Force to work Sunday.

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 05-17-2010 2:50 AM by Rocktosh. 27 replies.
  • 05-13-2010 10:35 PM

Force to work Sunday.

Hello guys. I am newbie here. My employer want's me to work sunday, which is my day off. Before they hired me I told them I will not work sundays. And now he want's me to work sunday and if not, he will going to write me up or fire me. What right or protection should I get if he will fire me or write me up? I already work 6 days a week and shouldn't I deserve to have a day off? The company has no policy that the employee should work whenever they need them or during emergency. It's only the manager who wants you to work sunday because he can't work sunday or nobody will work that day. Do they have such a laws in this case? Thanks for the help guys. I want to fight for it but I don't know where to place my stand to hold on to it or any laws.

• 05-13-2010 10:54 PM In reply to

Re: Force to work Sunday.

I did a quick google search and nothing popped up for Indiana about any "day off" law.

So I suggest you put in a call to the Indiana Dept of Labor and ask if there is one. If there is, get a statute number so you can look it up and quote it to your boss.

http://www.in.gov/dol/

If there isn't any law against it, you boss can assign you to work on sunday and fire you if you don't.

• The right of the people 
    • to keep and bear arms,
    • shall not be infringed.
  • 05-13-2010 11:04 PM In reply to

Thank you for your reply but thats what I am trying to look for right now. I really want to fight for my right to choose not to work during my day off even if they will call me to work for emergency reason. Thanks alot. Hope somebody here had the same case as mine and know what action they do.

• 05-13-2010 11:26 PM In reply to

• Cica
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 09-23-2003
    • Posts 6,520

mindybless: