***[A company] Messed Up My Taxes***

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 08-05-2010 12:01 PM by DPH. 7 replies.
  • 08-04-2010 1:15 PM

***[A company] Messed Up My Taxes***

I am unsure what to do with my situation but, this is what happened.

I went to [a company] to do my taxes for the 1st time on 02/18/2009. The woman who did my taxes was CB. I told her I have never done my taxes before and to help me with them. She asked for all my w2 forms from my employers. I told her I have 1 of them but not the other (FJ). FJ didn't give me a w2 form, was out of business and never sent me one. But, I told her I do have my last paycheck stub from them. I asked her if I can use that instead. She took it out of my hands and looked at it and said "Don't worry about it. It's less than $2000. The IRS won't care about such a small amount. So we will just file your return with the 1 employer/w2 form." I told her "I don't know anything about taxes. Are you sure I don't need to file this amount with Friedmans, to the IRS?" She said again "Don't worry about it. It's not even $2000"

So we proceeded with my tax return. I claimed me and my son. I paid for the peace of mind, just in case if there was a problem with my taxes. I also requested the emerald card to receive money in 2 days.

Two days later, I called the number on the back of the card and it stated there was a problem with my return. I called IRS and unfortunately my son's father claimed him on his return. Also, around that time I received a letter in the mail from the IRS. It was requesting information about a missing employer/wages.

Me and my son's father went to the IRS. My son's father fixed his and mine was fine except for the missing FJ wages. The IRS told me to go back to my tax preparer and mail in the FJ wages with a 4852 form(substitute for W2 form). Then, they told us both, to go back to each of our tax preparers. Print out physical copies of Federal and State, then mail.