Child Support Waiver

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 09-15-2010 8:38 AM by Drew. 12 replies.
  • 09-15-2010 1:28 AM

• raven0408
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-15-2010
    • NY
    • Posts 4

Child Support Waiver

My ex signed a custody agreement in March waiving child support for our son based upon the differences in our income (I am in college and have cerebral palsy). The court in Travis County approved the agreement. Today he called me and told me he will be pursuing support from me. He doesn't meet any of the requirements of a modification of child support, yet I know the Texas standard is best interest of the child. My question is: Can he modify the order so soon and force me to pay support without meeting any of the standard modification requirements?

• 09-15-2010 1:46 AM In reply to

Re: Child Support Waiver

Where is your ex (husband or boyfriend) living now?

Ok  I'm not a lawyer.  This is only my opinion /suggestion.  Most Replys' are based on information provided by the "original post" (OP).

• 09-15-2010 2:12 AM In reply to

• raven0408
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-15-2010
    • NY
    • Posts 4

He lives in Travis County, TX.  I am currently in NY.

• 09-15-2010 2:37 AM In reply to

raven0408:
    The court in Travis County approved the agreement. Today he called me and told me he will be pursuing support from me. 

Generally speaking (most states) he would need to wait 3 years, unless he lost his job, before he could File a motion for Modification of Child Support.  So my answer to your question, (based on your post) is NO not at this time.

Ok  I'm not a lawyer.  This is only my opinion /suggestion.  Most Replys' are based on information provided by the "original post" (OP).

• 09-15-2010 3:17 AM In reply to

You might also find this website helpful:

http://www.co.travis.tx.us/dro/support_payment.asp#how_to_receive

• 09-15-2010 3:20 AM In reply to