Retaliation harassment and defamation of character

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Fri, May 13 2011 6:44 PM by MelissaT. 6 replies.
  • Fri, Oct 1 2010 11:00 PM

Retaliation harassment and defamation of character

I am an insurance agent and I recently was terminated for no reason because I requested to speak to the corporate office because the branch manager wasnt helping me with issues I was having at the office.  I have complained about harassment for years and  nothing was done about it.  He also allowed other agents to write business in my homes which is against company policy and spread lies to my clients saying I wasnt available or even I had quit.  When I asked the branch manager if I could speak to the corporate office about these issues, he terminated my contract saying it was employment at will.  Does he have the right to do this?  I did call the EEOC and I ask them if I was allowed to talk to corporate and they told me a flat out yes.  When I got home, I received a phone call from another insurance company and the only way they got my phone number is if this company called them.  This branch manager has cost me thousands of dollars in renewals for simply not doing his responsibilities.  Do I have any rights about this?  I tried to call an attorney and can't find anyone to help me with this.  I finally was able to contact the corporate office and the lady I spoke to couldnt believe what I told her.  I do have a job with the other insurance company but at the same time I have over 400 clients established and why should I have to start all over again in my career.      

• Fri, Oct 1 2010 11:13 PM In reply to

Re: Retaliation harassment and defamation of character

"I recently was terminated for no reason because I requested to speak to the corporate office because the branch manager wasnt helping me with issues I was having at the office."

What issues specifically?