Fraudulent Eviction Rights and Fraud in Making a Contract

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 11-17-2010 11:11 AM by DrCharbonneau. 21 replies.
  • 10-15-2010 2:17 PM

Fraudulent Eviction Rights and Fraud in Making a Contract

My situation:

This is Anderson, Indiana...

I am a scientist who works out of his home, independent of any university. In 2003 I entered into a land contract to purchase an old house from a fellow. We agreed that I could move right in, no down payment and I was to create the prototype contract. He was to take the contract to an attorney and have it worded properly and modified to be legal. I did my part. The fellow claimed to have had an attorney rewrite the contract, but instead had his boss at work do that. He returned me basically the same contract with basically the same terms. The woman who had fixed the contract wrote a couple words in the upper corner of the contract, but her name was not revealed till later when I ended up suing the fellow. It started by him failing to perform. We agreed the contract still needed changes. I offered to make them. He said he'd take care of it (in those words) but never did. I said I would, so started making the payments as though we had signed it. He never brought a contract back. Later, in 2008, he sued me for possession, got a court order for one, but failed to serve it within 30 days. He didn't go back to court and have a new hearing as the small claims trial rules spell out. Instead he came back with an eviction order served over 2 months later. He forced me out, changed the locks and I sued him for fraud. I have 2 mechanics liens for all the improvements I made to the property and these have not been released as of yet by me or by the court.