Lottery Questions

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Fri, Nov 19 2010 10:59 AM by reedlamont. 7 replies.
  • Sun, Oct 17 2010 11:15 AM

• Hersh
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Oct 17 2010
    • IL
    • Posts 2

Lottery Questions

I'm a resident of Georgia and would like legal advice on the best way to collect a  lottery jackpot. I plan to hire a tax professional (CPA), tax attorney and a financial advisor.

My goals are to collect the prize anonymously and retain control of my money/assets/investments after I collect.

I've read that a blind trust is the best way to collect a lottery prize, as it affords the winner the right to remain anonymous with the lottery commission and in the press. However, I'm wary of this strategy, as I'd lose visibility into the investments the trustee was making on my behalf. I'd like to retain control and visibility over my assets.

QUESTIONS:

(1) Is a blind trust to collect a lottery jackpot ALLOWED in the state of Georgia?

(2) is a blind trust the best strategy to collect a large lottery jackpot for a GA resident?

(3) if the best strategy is a blind trust, how do I avoid/mitigate losing control/visibility of my assets. Can I set up the trust to exist for a set period of time, dissolve the trust and move my assets to either another trust, or simply into various bank accounts? Is there another solution I don't know about? (LLC, other type of trust, etc.?)

Thank you in advance.

• Sun, Oct 17 2010 3:04 PM In reply to

Re: Lottery Questions

The first thing you have to get past is that, when you buy a lottery ticket, it says on the ticket or in the lottery rules referred to on the ticket, that you give up your right to remain anonymous and agree to provide your name and likeness to the lottery comission for publicity purposes.

Please verify that before discussing questions that might turn out to be irrelevant.

• The right of the people 
    • to keep and bear arms,
    • shall not be infringed.