FIRED AFTER SURGERY THRU WORKMANS COMP.

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 12-09-2010 1:32 AM by Truffles4me. 6 replies.
  • 12-08-2010 6:31 PM

• SADMEE
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-08-2010
    • TX
    • Posts 3

FIRED AFTER SURGERY THRU WORKMANS COMP.

I'VE BEEN WORKING FOR THIS COMPANY 10 YEARS FOLLOWED SAME PROCEDURE IF I WAS,SICK ,LATE OR HAD TO TAKE KIDS TO DOCTOR.AFTER I FILED FOR WORKMANS COMP HAD SURGERY AND CONTINUING THERAPY. I TEXT MY MANGER ON SUNDAY I HAD TO LEAVE OUT OF TOWN BECAUSE OF ILLNESS IN THE FAMILY.JUST LIKE I'VE DONE BEFORE THE MONDAY FOLLOWING I WAS TOLD THAT CORPORATE OFFICE WAS HAVING ISSUES WITH MY ATTENDANCE.I ASKED WHAT ATTENDANCE IF ALL YEAR I'VE ONLY MISSED FOR WORKMANS COMP INJURY AND SURGERY ONLY! I CAME BACK FROM OUT OF TOWN AND WAS FIRED OVER THE PHONE I HAD TO GO TO THE JOB AND HAVE A CONFRENCE WITH THE PRESIDENT OF THE COMPANY TO TELL ME I WAS FIRED. IN 10 YEARS I'VE NEVER BEEN WRITTEN UP OR HAD ANY ISSUES WITH MY ATTENDANCE OR NEVER TOLD THAT IT WAS A PROBLEM WHY NOW TO THIS DAY I THOUGHT I WOULD HAVE RECEIVED A LETTER FROM THE COMPANY STATING THE REASON FOR TERMINATION BUT I HAVEN'T.NOW I'M WITHOUT A JOB AND CAN'T WORK DUE TO WORK INJURY AND WORKMANS COMP.ISN'T PAYING ME EITHER NEVER RECEIVED  AND CHECKS FROM THEM.

• 12-08-2010 7:00 PM In reply to

Re: FIRED AFTER SURGERY THRU WORKMANS COMP.

How long were you out for the injury and surgery?  FMLA only protects your job for 12 weeks.  If you exceeded that (even if it was a WC injury) they do not have to hold your job for you.

" I HAD TO LEAVE OUT OF TOWN BECAUSE OF ILLNESS IN THE FAMILY"

The employer isn't required to allow you time off for a family illness.  

" I WAS TOLD THAT CORPORATE OFFICE WAS HAVING ISSUES WITH MY ATTENDANCE"

One unapproved absence is enough.  There do not have to be multiple incidents.

" I THOUGHT I WOULD HAVE RECEIVED A LETTER FROM THE COMPANY STATING THE REASON FOR TERMINATION BUT I HAVEN'T"