possession and drug parahernalia charges....deportation?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Sun, Jan 9 2011 12:29 AM by BigDadee63. 11 replies.
  • Thu, Dec 23 2010 11:29 PM

possession and drug parahernalia charges....deportation?

I have recently been arrested and charged with possession of marijuana >1 gram and drug paraphernelia. I am an 18 year old green card holder. What should i expect for consequences aswell as immigration problems? Anyone who knows the probable outcome please get back to me as soon as possible. I really appreciate it thank you.

• Fri, Dec 24 2010 12:24 AM In reply to

Re: possession and drug parahernalia charges....deportation?

As for the criminal charges, consider hiring a Criminal Defense Lawyer or see if you are eligible apply for a Public Defender.

You can also search the USCIS website (google it) to see what effect a criminal record has on a U.S. Green Card holder (meaning it's renewal).

Ok  I'm not a lawyer.  This is only my opinion /suggestion.  Most Replys' are based on information provided by the "original post" (OP).

• Sat, Dec 25 2010 7:46 AM In reply to

First-time marijuana offenders in New Jersey are often eligible for Pretrial Intervention (PTI) or for a conditional discharge. These are both "diversion" programs. Diversion programs exist in all New Jersey state criminal courts.

A similar program is often available in federal court. Under diversion, a defendant is placed on probation. There is usually no trial. There is usually no guilty plea. And, most importantly, there is no record of having been convicted.

New Jersey driving privileges are usually retained. When probation is successfully completed, the charges are dismissed. After a short waiting period, the New Jersey arrest record can then be expunged.

Whether a person can have marijuana charges diverted in New Jersey depends on many factors.  Learn More Here :  http://www.njmarijuana.com/page.php?here=index