What are my options if a lawyer withdraws

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 07-09-2012 10:57 AM by ladybarrinov. 10 replies.
  • 01-04-2011 9:37 PM

What are my options if a lawyer withdraws

Hey everybody, this is my first time on this site and I am brand new to legal issues so please forgive me if my terminology is a little incorrect. My lawyer has recently sent me a letter informing me that she is withdrawing from the case because I changed strategy, have not cooperated with her and asked her to do things she was not comfortable with. However, there seems to have been misunderstanding between the two of us and now I don't know what to do. First, my change in strategy is due to a change in funds....she wanted to pursue cyberstalking as part of the case and I told her I could not afford a forensic to build that case and did not want to pursue it. Second, she says I did not cooperate because I did not have my counselor contact her to discuss emotional damages but she asked me to do that last Thursday and I left him a voicemail but today is only Tuesday. Third, I asked her not to extend any professional courtesies to the other lawyer because although he is very nice he works for my ex who is not. Did I overstep my bounds as the client? I am trying to understand where she is coming from and I saw that the lawyer can withdraw for things like that.

My next questions, and more important ones are that she has given me three days to find another lawyer before she files notice to withdrawal and I have no idea what that means...if I don't find one the case gets dismissed? And lastly, I have paid over $10,000 in lawyer fees and cannot afford to pay another retainer upfront and get another lawyer just caught up let alone finish the case so am I just up the creek without a paddle? Any advice/assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

• 01-05-2011 9:40 AM In reply to

Re: What are my options if a lawyer withdraws

Your best option is to find another lawyer.