Red Light Photo Enforcement Tickets-Oregon

Latest post Fri, Jun 21 2013 12:11 AM by GF78. 47 replies.
  • Sun, Feb 13 2011 1:29 AM

• Sharon Lee
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Feb 12 2011
    • OR
    • Posts 12

Red Light Photo Enforcement Tickets-Oregon

I received a Red Light Photo Enforcement Ticket in the city of Sherwood,Oregon.I have been turning at his intersection for 30 years with no problems. They have never enforced this before.

Sherwood has the reputation of being a "speed trap" for decades. Now they have put 4 cameras at the intersection of Pacific highway and Roy Rogers and 1,800 people were cited in the first month they were installed! The corporation which installed the system derives revenue from each citation issued.

I was cited for a "rolling right turn." The ticket is a whopping $289. They estimate the yearly revenue from this intersection will be $1.5 million. Most states charge $50-$100 for this right turn on a red.

As far as I am concerned this is a scam to suck money out of people. The intersection signage presents just a red light and a simple right turn arrow black and white sign and is not clearly marked as "photo enforced."

I want to change the venue for my trial and if I lose I want to appeal this. (I pleaded "not guilty") I want to change it because the same judge presides over the juried portion of this trial and I don't think he will be fair as the city has a lot to lose if these tickets are successfully challenged.

How can I change the venue for my trial in Oregon for this type of ticket which is considered a crime?

How can I appeal the decision of the court if I lose at trial?

• Sun, Feb 13 2011 3:26 AM In reply to

Re: Red Light Photo Enforcement Tickets-Oregon

Sharon Lee:
    How can I change the venue for my trial in Oregon for this type of ticket which is considered a crime?