Land contract?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 07-26-2011 3:12 PM by Drew. 5 replies.
  • 07-25-2011 1:33 AM

• Deanae
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-02-2010
    • OH
    • Posts 8

Land contract?

My husband and I have been buying a house on land contract for almost two years now. Our land contract is written up for a 5 year contract. After the 5 years, we are supposed to own the house. Within the two years, we have made every payment, plus our down payment to get the house, and we have put money into the house as well. My landlord and my husband and I went thru a lawyer to have the land contract made up. Back in April, my husband and I were able to apply for an actual mortgage for our house. We set it up to where we would pay the balance off from what we owed, and used the rest to remodel the house the way we first had attended on doing. This is the end of July, and we still have not signed the papers to close on the house. The lady we are buying the house off of let us know at the end of June that she has to have her house reappraised and it has to appraise for more than 20 percent of what she owes on her house and on [ours]. She did a bridge loan on her house, and the bank will not release the deed to our house until her house is appraised. I have a few questions to this. She made up a land contract through a lawyer. We have every rent receipt and down payment receipt we have ever made. We currently have not paid rent since we were approved for the loan which was I think April or May? We have kids, and the house only is heated by a wood burning furnace. There is no other means of heat, and it is very cold in here in the winter. So my questions are this... my husband and I are also looking at another house to buy, but if we do that, if the lady we are buying our current house tries to sue us for back rent, can she do it since she is not giving me any information as to what is going on with the current loan we are trying to get?