salary to hourly

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 10-06-2011 10:13 AM by Drew. 7 replies.
  • 10-05-2011 7:56 PM

• Billeboy
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 09-30-2011
    • PA
    • Posts 1

salary to hourly

I was out for an illness for 5 days with a doctors note. when i returned to work I had a doctors note to only work for 4 hours a day due to still healing. I am a salary manager when I came back they told me that I would only be paid an hourly rate for 4 hours a day. is this legal in Pennsylvania?

• 10-05-2011 8:28 PM In reply to

Re: salary to hourly

Sure

• 10-05-2011 8:44 PM In reply to

• LG81
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 01-03-2010
    • Posts 4,338

Billeboy:

I was out for an illness for 5 days with a doctors note. when i returned to work I had a doctors note to only work for 4 hours a day due to still healing. I am a salary manager when I came back they told me that I would only be paid an hourly rate for 4 hours a day. is this legal in Pennsylvania?

First please remember that salary versus hourly is just a mode of payment; what matters for classification purposes is exempt versus nonexempt.  I am not an expert in PA employment law, but in most states, an exempt employee (which is sounds like you are classified as one) can be paid half days if that's all that's worked.  However, let's say the exempt employee worked six hours, he or she would need to be paid for a full day.  E.g., if you are exempt salary and took a couple of hours off (but not a full half day) to go to a dr's appointment, you could not be docked for that.  The theory behind that is sort of that it all works out in the end; an exempt employee often works a lot of free "OT", so an hour here or there sort of balances things out.  I hope this makes sense.

• 10-05-2011 10:25 PM In reply to

• cbg
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 12-21-2000
    • MA
    • Posts 6,778