Question about licensing deals

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 10-24-2011 1:24 PM by AbeG. 5 replies.
  • 10-21-2011 1:50 PM

• AbeG
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-21-2011
    • NY
    • Posts 3

Question about licensing deals

I'm interested in contacting a few companies about possibly licensing their name and improving on an existing product of theirs.  Assuming their product has a patent, is there anything I can do so that they don't take the idea and develop it themselves and cut me out of the picture? 

• 10-21-2011 1:57 PM In reply to

Re: Question about licensing deals

OK, I'm no expert here, but this sounds to me like you need to really do more than just post to a legal forum and get some answers from any of us strangers.

What product, what improvements and assuming anything is never good.

They very well could cut you out of the picture instantly, and sue you if you have no clue what you are doing here.

I know just enough to know this much.  I don't know.

I guess I would start by speaking to a lawyer.  But are you really planning on making a ton of cash here?  It just sounds like you don't really have a good plan together here.

Good luck!

• 10-21-2011 2:37 PM In reply to

• AbeG
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-21-2011
    • NY
    • Posts 3

I will contact a lawyer, I guess I was just hoping to get a general idea of things before taking that step. 

To be sligthly more specific, I'm a software developer and I would like to license a particular company's name and education system and create a program out of it.  Creating the program would be pretty straight-forward for me.  However, before I waste any effort developing it, I would like to know if I stand any chance of securing such a licensing deal while minimizing the possibility of the company taking the idea and implementing it themselves.