My employer is in violation of HIPAA laws daily!

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 02-13-2012 10:05 PM by Taxagent. 13 replies.
  • 02-13-2012 5:27 PM

• naranay
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-13-2012
    • CA
    • Posts 4

My employer is in violation of HIPAA laws daily!

Hi,

I have been working for a health clinic for over 5 years now. I have been concerned about the fact that the case workers and therapist are taking work home and completing patient notes from home or any other place outside of work. It is "against our policy" to do such a thing however the powers that be "pretend" they don't know this is going on when in fact I have brought it to their attention several times.

Recently, I read about the penalties involved if HIPAA is violated. I wanted to know if someone could tell me if I could sue for these vilations? What are the proper steps? Who should I contact?

I already contacted HR about this problem 2 years ago and still, nothing has changed.

Thank you for your help.

• 02-13-2012 5:31 PM In reply to

Re: My employer is in violation of HIPAA laws daily!

I wouldn't know whether HIPAA regs prohibit such workers from taking stuff home with them to work on and I presume you've actually read something on the topic vs. just presumed (though your question makes it seem as though you haven't done any research).

Even a patient wouldn't have standing to sue the employer for violations (though willful dissemination of medical info with intent to injure would presumably be actionable).

Howsabout filing a complaint with the DHHS -- which if you've done any googling on the issue of HIPAA violations you'd see is the sole general remedy?

• 02-13-2012 5:41 PM In reply to

naranay:
    I wanted to know if someone could tell me if I could sue for these vilations?