employer pays some employees insurance but not others.

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 02-24-2012 2:12 AM by Taxagent. 6 replies.
  • 02-23-2012 7:59 PM

employer pays some employees insurance but not others.

Maybe someone can shine some light on this for me and possibly point me in a direction. I work for a small commercial real estate company in New Jersey. I've known for years that at least one employee (co-worker) has his health insurance paid by my employer. About 15 months ago my employer came to me to sign a form to decline health insurance and I had resisted this because I didnt have any health insurance. My options were to sign the form or be forced to pay through the companys group policy myself. So with that being said I have been paying my health insurance for 15 months out of my weekly pay. My question is: Is the employer allowed to pay for some employee's health insurance but force other employee's to decline health insurance or make them pay for health insurance through the companys group policy? It is costing me quite a bit every month to keep the insurance and I feel that it is unfair that some have paid insurance where as I have to pay my own. Any information or help I greatly appreciate and thank you.

• 02-23-2012 8:46 PM In reply to

Re: employer pays some employees insurance but not others.

Unfair but not illegal.

The employer can pick and choose who he wants to provide benefits for.

You have the option of seeking other employment where an employer pays for your medical insurance.

• The right of the people 
    • to keep and bear arms,
    • shall not be infringed.
  • 02-23-2012 9:16 PM In reply to

adjuster jack:

True enough, but the employer and employees might lose beneficial tax treatment by picking and choosing.

• 02-23-2012 9:21 PM In reply to

• cbg
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 12-22-2000
    • MA
    • Posts 6,836