demand letter questions for attorneys

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Tue, Jun 26 2012 8:25 PM by ClydesMom. 2 replies.
  • Tue, Jun 26 2012 6:46 PM

• cazzissimo
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Jun 26 2012
    • NY
    • Posts 1

demand letter questions for attorneys

I am a licensed attorney in NY and am considering taking a small dental malpractice case based primarily on misdiagnosis and unnecessary pain and suffering and punitive damages.  As this practice area is completely new to me, I am seeing if anyone on this list might be kind enough to provide thoughts as to the following questions:

1. should the initial demand letter be on my letterhead and come from me or should it be from my client?

2. to what extent should the letter detail my client's claim?

3. should the demand letter include a settlement number?

4. as the claim is relatively small, should the letter offer to resolve the claim without involving the defendant's insurance carrier?  in connection with this question, does it make any difference if the letter is sent under the client's name or my name?

5. does a certificate of merit need to be obtained prior to sending a demand letter and/or be referenced in the demand letter?

I hope that someone out there who has been on the receiving end of mentorship will be kind enough to be on the giving end now.  Of course, I understand that no legal advice is going be offered, just general thoughts.  Thank you!

• Tue, Jun 26 2012 7:48 PM In reply to

Re: demand letter questions for attorneys

cazzissimo:
    I am seeing if anyone on this list might be kind enough to provide thoughts as to the following questions:

Well, I had 35 years in the insurance industry and know my way around a liability claim.

cazzissimo:
    should the initial demand letter be on my letterhead and come from me or should it be from my client?