Letter of Ejectment

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 01-24-2014 9:47 AM by Chris8620. 39 replies.
  • 06-28-2012 4:56 PM

Letter of Ejectment

I've been renting my home for the last 7 years.Lanlord lost house in Sheriff sale.Bank bought the house.

Today the sheriff knocked on the door and gave me a Ejectment Notice?I have no idea what this is and i will admit these papers are very confusing.What exactly does this mean?How long will i have to move at this point?

I've been looking for a place to move because i need to stay in the area due to my children being special needs and their schooling.But it cannot happen fast enough for me!

The notice basically says i have 20 days to file a response.Also included in the stack of papers was a copy of the deed with the banks name.The Tenant Forclosure Rights saying about the 90 Days.

Please help.You guys were very helpful with my last post when they switched all utilities into their name without my permission.

My main concern is...how long will it be until they can throw us out?I have no current lease.My lease with the previous lanlord had expired.
    Thanks

P.s I'm in Monroeville,PA

• 06-28-2012 5:04 PM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-30-2000
    • PA
    • Posts 48,268

Re: Letter of Ejectment

There is a recent Federal law that provides for far greater protection to tenants caught in a owner being foreclosed upon...I think its a minimum of 90 days or until end of your current lease.  And you mention same  90 days. Dig deeper  and do not assume bank is correct. Do NOT educate bank, if they have it wrong--too bad--but you must defend in court and probably file a very short timely response --I'm not sure there is even a statutory requirement for an advance response --except you might need to respond that you intend to defend..

• 06-28-2012 5:13 PM In reply to

Read this: