Resignation in lieu of termination - still get unemployment?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 07-13-2012 8:47 AM by Karroog. 18 replies.
  • 07-11-2012 10:19 PM

• Karroog
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 07-12-2012
    • RI
    • Posts 2

Resignation in lieu of termination - still get unemployment?

Residence: Rhode Island

My situation is a bit hectic, but I will keep it short.  I have been working for an employer for 3 months, but recently had to go on Temporary Disability Insurance as I was unable to work.  I have been on TDI for 3 weeks now. I was just diagnosed with Chronic Pancreatitis, which is no fun.

I spoke to my boss about the diagnosis as I knew it would affect my job.  She understood, and brought up the fact that my doctor had not faxed over the past week notice that I was still required to be on TDI. Because of this she told me that she had the authority to fire me because of the "abandonment of duties" situation.  

She said that she was willing to forgoe putting that on my record with the company as long as I wrote out a "resignation in lieu of termination" to her stating that I would resign instead of being fired because of my recent troubles and diagnosis.

My question is, even if I wrote out the letter I have read that usually if you resign from a position you would not obtain unemployment benefits.  Is there a way to write out a letter ensuring that my soon to be ex-employer will have to respond back saying that she will be terminating my position in order for me to go on unemployment after my time on TDI? I just want to cover myself after I get my health in order.

Again, a bit complex, but I was hoping to get a better idea from here.  Thanks again for the responses!

• 07-11-2012 10:45 PM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-30-2000
    • PA
    • Posts 49,485

Re: Resignation in lieu of termination - still get unemployment?