Denied employment due to smoking

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 10-01-2012 9:24 PM by Drew. 43 replies.
  • 08-15-2012 12:43 PM

• KevinS
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 08-15-2012
    • TX
    • Posts 2

Denied employment due to smoking

I am a Registered Nurse with 15 years of experience. I was recently given a job offer after 2 interviews and told that I would be perfect for this position. I scheduled my employment processing and orientation. When I went in to be processed and do the drug screen the occupational nurse read my health history and said "Do you smoke" and I said yes, as I had indicated on my health questionaire, she then said, when your drug screen comes back positive for nicotine your offer of employment will be withdrawn. I then went to the manager who hired me and she did not know this, she called some people in HR and they said that a new policy came into effect today and no one who smokes can be hired for any position. I feel that since I was already considered the best person for the job and I would not smoke at work and it does not affect my performance that this is blatantly discriminitory. Can they do this? It is the Baptist health system at San Antonio TX.

Thank You, Lori 

• 08-15-2012 12:55 PM In reply to

Re: Denied employment due to smoking

KevinS:
    I feel that since I was already considered the best person for the job and I would not smoke at work and it does not affect my performance that this is blatantly discriminitory.

However, it is not ILLEGAL discrimination.  Many employers now have very strict policies about not hiring smokers.  Their productivity is lower (if they take smoke breaks), insurance costs higher health wise, and they have more absences due to smoking related illnesses.