Truck Driver terminated on side of road

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 08-17-2012 1:52 PM by Cica. 6 replies.
  • 08-17-2012 12:09 AM

Truck Driver terminated on side of road

Background:

I live, and was hired from the state of NV for an employer based in AR and was terminated in CA. I was a driver for a small fleet with a primary job function of loading produce in CA to provide loaded trailers to teams to deliver in the Southeast. The agreement was for a salary of $950/week including 4 days off per month. I had worked for the company 2 years, 11 months, approximately 16 months of which with these terms.

I was terminated in CA on 8/10/2012 for not answering the phone on 8/09/2012 after being told by payroll my services "would no longer be needed" if I was ordered to pay child support based on my salary. The employer towed the truck for the purpose of securing it while terminating me to a location away from any other businesses and demanded I depart the truck with my posessions within 15 minutes. I lost approximately $2000 in belongings, had to sleep on the sidewalk as no other options were available in a strange area and I had been working all day, was cuffed and detained by the Sheriff's office and encurred $90 in expenses to get back home. 

The employer has not paid any final wages or responded to requests for their intentions. They have not provided any reason to believe they intend to return my personal property or compensate for it. I have secured a position with a previous employer, however as of this evening the employer that terminated me has not responded to the verification information required by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

I am seeking any advice and or assistance available.

• 08-17-2012 9:35 AM In reply to

• Cica
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 09-23-2003
    • Posts 6,520

Re: Truck Driver terminated on side of road

Opinion: