Settling Credit Card Debt With Collection Agency

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 10-29-2012 10:19 PM by adjuster jack. 1 replies.
  • 10-29-2012 9:28 PM

• BenRieder
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-30-2012
    • OR
    • Posts 1

Settling Credit Card Debt With Collection Agency

I graduated college 4 months ago and I've been luck enough to land a great job but now that I'm in the "real world" I am having to deal with some mistakes I made while in school. One of these, like many other students, was racking up credit card debt. I was able to keep one in good standing, which I'm currently paying off, but I have another one that was sold to a third party that I would like to settle. (Full disclosure, the debt has actually been sold 4 or 5 different times) 

Considering that the debt has been sold many times I'm expect that the company currently holding it has paid maybe 5 to 10 cents on the dollar and for that reason would be open to settling it for very little. 

The company called me and I told them that I'm interested in settling the debt but I would first need to see proof that they own the debt. That was earlier today and they said they would send the right documentation in the mail.

My First question is, how can I be sure that what they send me is legit? Is there something I should look for to ensure I am actually working with the company who owns the debt?