Lease with multiple tenants

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 11-30-2012 10:55 AM by Chancey1. 7 replies.
  • 11-30-2012 12:20 AM

• jhensper
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 11-30-2012
    • DE
    • Posts 2

Lease with multiple tenants

Hello, Im a college student and I've managed to fall into an unfavorable situation with roomates from the house I rented last year. I go to school in Delaware. Last year I rented a house with 4 people, and they were less than perfect roomates to have their names on the lease with me. They caused extensive damage to the property and then lied to me about their intentions to pay for it. When its all said and done at the end of the lease two of them did not pay the final month's rent. If all the security deposits are witheld we end up about 340 short of paying. However, since two of them did not pay that last month the landlord is owed 1340 instead of 340. I have proof of all the money I have sent to the LL and can show that I have already paid for exactly 1/4 of the money owed in this case (all 12 monthly rent checks, plus sec dep, plus a check for 1/4 of the ballance in damages). If the LL takes this to court, do I have any chance of not having to split the extra 1000 dollars that my roomates did not pay?

The LL is saying he wants to file this in court on the 5th of December, none of the former roomates respond to him, and he will not work with me to avoid pursuing me for the money they owe. I would just hope that maybe the court would stand up for me if I can show that I have already paid my entire share of what should have been owed.

• 11-30-2012 8:16 AM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-30-2000
    • PA
    • Posts 49,105

Re: Lease with multiple tenants