Fighting for full custody

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 12-20-2012 9:31 PM by DPH. 8 replies.
  • 12-18-2012 7:07 PM

Fighting for full custody

Ok so, I am a single mother who has gone to court numerous times over the fathers visitation and he is now awarded every other weekend with our 2 year old son.  My concern is that he is not the best father figure to be in his life.  He has a history of being in and out of jail and just today was released from a rehab.  He is constantly giving up his weekends with the baby and I don't feel it's fair to my son.  The constant change and uncertainty is not healthy for the baby.  So I would like to file for full custody but don't know if it would just be a waste of time.

some thoughts please.

• 12-18-2012 7:57 PM In reply to

Re: Fighting for full custody

I am NOT a lawyer

But some questions, that I don't reallly want you to answer to me

you don't think he's a great father figure?

But, you had a child with him???

The best thing I can think of is to get a lawyer to represent you, and then take it from there.

Good luck!

• 12-18-2012 8:26 PM In reply to

He is Dad and he does have some rights. He has already been granted visits so I'm not sure what "full' custody is going to get you? If Dad wants to be a part of the childs life the court is going to let him. He does not have to use his visits. Honestly you picked him to be the father of your kid his jail history is probably irrelevent. it is NOT healthy for the child to have no relationship with his father. Until you can prove he has harmed the child and abusive to the child, there is probably not much you can do.

• 12-18-2012 8:43 PM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-30-2000
    • PA
    • Posts 49,323

Odds are he gets some role in childs life.

He has a right but not a duty to exercise visitation--that said you can follow order to a T and not allow him to swap weekends etc.