Inventory Calculations

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Sun, Jan 6 2013 12:10 PM by Taxagent. 5 replies.
  • Fri, Jan 4 2013 5:57 PM

• LeaMae
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Jun 13 2012
    • WV
    • Posts 9

Inventory Calculations

I am a small business owner who makes handcrafted jewelry. I am doing inventory and have 3 questions:

1. I have a lot of gemstones that I tumbled from raw - I have been 'valuing' them when I make creations between $3 to $5 per stone.  Is this the amount I use per stone when figuring my inventory? For example, 50 stones at $5 for a total of $250.

2.  I have several finished creations that have not yet sold.  How do I figure the costs of these creations in inventory?  Supplies and materials only? Supplies, materials, labor and profit?  For example, supplies and materials are $5, labor (myself) is $15; retail price for creation is $45.  Do I only use the $5 or do I use the $45 (retail price)?

3. I have many stones that were given to me. I put a value on them on what it would cost me to REPLACE them, for example, $5 per stone. If I had 25 stones at $5 for a total of $125 - can I claim them in my inventory even though I did not 'buy' them myself?

Thanks in advance.

• Fri, Jan 4 2013 6:46 PM In reply to

Re: Inventory Calculations

Did you have the Schedule C form in front of you when you asked those questions? If not, take a look at one now:

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/f1040sc.pdf

And the instructions:

http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/i1040sc.pdf

I'm guessing the inventory question has to do with part III cost of Goods sold.

LeaMae:

1. I have a lot of gemstones that I tumbled from raw - I have been 'valuing' them when I make creations between $3 to $5 per stone.  Is this the amount I use per stone when figuring my inventory? For example, 50 stones at $5 for a total of $250.