(state of CA) Family Court vs Small Claims Court???

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 02-20-2013 2:54 PM by Hearst86. 29 replies.
  • 02-19-2013 2:02 PM In reply to

• Cicijo
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 02-16-2013
    • IL
    • Posts 33

Re: (state of CA) Family Court vs Small Claims Court???

I'm not a lawyer and I may be completely wrong, but as I understand it a small claims court judgement could allow you to go after her assets such as car and home. It takes a lot of work and more court visits, if I'm not mistaken, but you would have options available to you if your ex doesn't pay up voluntarily. I don't know if those same options are available to you with the child support judgement that you have. Even though the men's legal aid center don't normally help dad's in your situation that is something they may be able to answer for you. It doesn't hurt to make an appointment. Regular legal aid may be able to give you some advice too. Sometimes legal students will volunteer their time to help so checking with a nearby law school may be worth it too.

A small claims suit also has, hopefully, a pressuring effect on your ex. If you're coming at her from every angle she may just pay up to make it stop. What's not disputable is that what you've done so far isn't working. I'd spend the $70 or whatever it is to file to suit.

• 02-19-2013 2:27 PM In reply to

Drew:
    As I see it as a layman I don't see any reason you are prevented to try to get award of  $ judgement in SC court

It's forum shopping and the small claims judge will NOT hear it.  That's why.  He'll be out his filing fees and the cost of service which he cannot recoup.  You can't sue in small claims to collect on a family court order.  The poster can file a contempt citation and pursue it in family court.  THAT is his only avenue.

• 02-19-2013 2:35 PM In reply to

Cicijo:
    I'm not a lawyer and I may be completely wrong .

You are completely wrong.

Cicijo: