Am I getting a DUI

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Tue, Sep 8 2015 5:35 AM by David Hunter. 9 replies.
  • Mon, Aug 11 2014 4:48 PM

• C. M. Burns
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Aug 11 2014
    • CA
    • Posts 2

Am I getting a DUI

Back in March I was in an accident. I had been drinking and crashed my car. It was in rural area and I had no passengers so there was no damage to property other than my car and nobody other than me was injured. The police came and there was never a field sobriety test performed and they weren't able to perform the breathalyzer test because my injuries prevented me from blowing in the device for as long as they needed. I was never booked because I went straight to the hospital. I consented to a blood test, but the doctor never performed the blood test. I've been calling the DA's office for 5 months asking if a court date has been set and the answer has been no up until today. Today they told me that I had to call the courthouse and set my court date with them because they can't set my court date as I was never booked for the DUI. So I have a few questions...
    1) Is it typical for the DA's office to request a person being charged with a DUI to call the courthouse and schedule their own court date? I was told (by the DA's office)that they would set the court date themselves and send a notice in the mail.
    2) Should I even call to set my court date? If they can't set my court date because they didn't book me at the time of the accident then why should I help them charge me with a DUI?
    3) Under the circumstances, is there even enough to charge me with a DUI? I was never booked, there was no field sobriety or breathalyzer test performed, and there was no blood test performed.

• Mon, Aug 11 2014 5:40 PM In reply to

Re: Am I getting a DUI

C. M. Burns:
    1) Is it typical for the DA's office to request a person being charged with a DUI to call the courthouse and schedule their own court date?