House division in TX

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Sat, May 16 2015 9:22 PM by superman1. 14 replies.
  • Sat, May 16 2015 8:48 AM

• Beiro
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, May 16 2015
    • TX
    • Posts 6

House division in TX

Hi, 

I bought a house after marriage by using my gift money from my parents before marraige, but I put both my wife and my name on top. I paid in full and no mortgage. Two months after I paid the house, my wife divorced me and tried to get half of the value of the house. A lof of people said it is presumption of gift that I put both names, so I should give her half of the value of the house. I was wondering how I can argue that and give her as less as possible. I was wondering if the house is divided by half, will I be able to get more reimbursement since I paid by my separate money from parents?

Thank you for any advice. 

• Sat, May 16 2015 10:01 AM In reply to

Re: House division in TX

I am not a lawyer but I was curious, so I googled community property in Texas.  I could not find a clear answer to your question.  Here's a link to one fairly detailed explanation on a lawyer's website.  You can see that it's not simple.

Does your wife have a divorce lawyer helping her?

Do you have a divorce lawyer helping you?

If the answers are yes to the first question and no to the second, PLEASE do yourself a favor and hire a decent divorce attorney (and ask him or her your question).

• Sat, May 16 2015 10:29 AM In reply to

• Beiro
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • TX
    • Posts 6

She has a lawyer and I do too. But I am not sure whether my lawyer is confident to fight for this and I want to see whether there are some other possibilities. Any suggestions will be helpful. Thanks! 

• Sat, May 16 2015 10:41 AM In reply to

I was divorced in a community property state (AZ). Community property laws are similar to TX.