Baltimore fare evasion ticket

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Wed, May 20 2015 1:43 PM by ca19lawyer2. 7 replies.
  • Tue, May 19 2015 7:55 PM

• mansface
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, May 20 2015
    • MD
    • Posts 2

Baltimore fare evasion ticket

Hello.

I ride on the baltimore light rail today without a ticket and was caught. The police officer gave me a blue ticket with a charge of $50. I don't mind paying the fee at all since I made a mistake. But I sincerely don't want any criminal record. The police officer said that if I paid the fine then this will go on my criminal record so he suggested me to go to trail.

I'm an internation student who just graduated yeaterday and I don't want this record to affect further employment or us visa opportunity.

What would be the best thing to do in this case? Thank you very much.

• Tue, May 19 2015 10:22 PM In reply to

Re: Baltimore fare evasion ticket

mansface:
    What would be the best thing to do in this case?

Consult a local attorney.  BTW, if you didn't want to risk the consequences, you shouldn't have rode without a ticket in the first place.

• Wed, May 20 2015 8:41 AM In reply to

Do you have any basis to defend against the ticket?  If not, I can't really imagine why you'd actually force a trial in a matter like this.  As far as a "criminal record," I can scarcely imagine anyone caring about a trivial matter such as this.

• Wed, May 20 2015 9:08 AM In reply to

• mansface
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, May 20 2015
    • MD
    • Posts 2

Hi, thank you very much for your response.

I'm in the middle of graduation week and I'm in a mess. I had to go a lot of places in a day so yesterday I bought a day pass in the morning but when I head out later that day I grabbed another bag without the day pass on me.

The officer who issued me the ticket told me not to pay the fine but go to court and argue for it.

• Wed, May 20 2015 9:18 AM In reply to