Do we owe this broker/agent a commission?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Wed, Apr 12 2017 3:58 PM by cathammer. 24 replies.
  • Wed, Dec 2 2015 7:33 PM In reply to

Re: Do we owe this broker/agent a commission?

I'm not a lawyer, but I have been a home seller four times (once in Ohio, three times in Washington State).  From your description of what happened and of what you signed, it seems to me that you do not owe this agent a commission.

You should of course carefully read any additional documents you are asked to sign before signing them, particularly the escrow instructions.

• Wed, Dec 2 2015 9:17 PM In reply to

See if you can get a preliminary HUD-1 settlement worksheet (or its equivalent) from the escrow company or the attorney and that'll show you where the money is going and who it's coming from.

If you've never seen a HUD-1 there are plenty of resources online that will explain it to you and show you samples:

https://duckduckgo.com/?q=hud-1&ia=about

Learn how it works and you'll be able to figure out where the commission money is coming from.

It will either show the commission coming out of the sale proceeds which means you are paying for it, or it will show that the buyer is bringing extra money to the deal to pay the realtor.

• The right of the people 
    • to keep and bear arms,
    • shall not be infringed.
  • Thu, Dec 3 2015 3:53 PM In reply to

• cathammer
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Dec 22 2008
    • GA
    • Posts 60

Thanks, Jack.  Good Idea, although I think I'll still wait a little bit before asking.

• Fri, Dec 4 2015 8:08 AM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Mar 30 2000
    • PA
    • Posts 51,401

I don't see any risk to ask for the HUD1 as early as possible from the entity that is creating it ....just keep the request on simple point .