General questions about claim process & expenses of suit

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Thu, Sep 8 2016 11:43 AM by Taxagent. 37 replies.
  • Mon, Aug 15 2016 9:08 AM In reply to

Re: General questions about claim process & expenses of suit

DanWard:
    3-4 is patient, case manager, lawyer, another case manager office person. The 3 of them are vigorously involved in likely dozens of cases. For this reason they use their memory from previous communications and misunderstandings do happen. One sends a message to one of the others. That person sends a reply but c/o of the others, All trying to remember what is going on in the case

That's a description of life on this planet. :-)

DanWard:
    If you were a lawyer (maybe you are) how often would you meet in person with the client (assume no court trial)?

I'm not a lawyer. I spent 35 years in the insurance industry so I know some stuff.

There is still no cut and dried answer to that question. Even if I was a lawyer it would still depend on the kind and severity of the case so don't take the following as gospel and certainly don't go back to your laywer and say "Adjusterjack says you should..."

Anyway:

1 - First meeting - Interview client to determine details of claim. Follow up with any necessary investigation and document gathering. Put other party on notice of claim.

2 - Second meeting - Maybe a month or so after the first for a status. Could be done by phone.

3 - Third meeting - After the client has fully recovered or reached maximum medical improvement. Status, update, tie up any loose ends prior to creating demand package. Could also be done by phone.

4 - Fourth meeting - Review demand package. This is optional. Lawyers may not want or need the client's input in determining an amount to demand.

5 - Fifth meeting - Sign settlement agreement.

Some of those might not even be necessary. There may be a need for others. Lots of stuff can be handled by phone or email.