The Lawyers.com Law Forums will be shutting down on June 30, 2017. We encourage you to resolve any outstanding discussions prior to that time. If you have any questions about this change, please email info@martindale.com.

Federal disability / local govt pension income

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Wed, Oct 26 2016 4:52 PM by badfingers. 2 replies.
  • Fri, Oct 21 2016 4:46 PM

Federal disability / local govt pension income

Hello all.

I have been receiving a LWEC for over 11 years.  I did return to federal employment June of last year.

Each year I receive the "income verification" asking my "earned" wages from employment.  I also have the option now to receive a pension from local Govt which I have 15 years of service. I called to ask case examiner if I chose to receive the pension from local govt job, would it affect my LWEC.  He said "I think it would" I countered that the annual request asks for "earnings from current employment" and also asks if I have received any Fed Govt retiree payments (which I have NOT)  I asked for specific rule / law spelling out whether it would affect the LWEC. He said he would send me something within a week. Surprise, he sent nothing. Can anyone point me in the right direction?  Additionally, I do understand after being back in FED employment I should be able to "regain" credit for time receiving the benefits of FECA also.  The information I do have is tough to understand. If anyone can give me more insight on that, I would be greatful.  thanks all, have a good weekend!!

• Sat, Oct 22 2016 12:52 PM In reply to

• Kivi
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Sat, Jan 1 2005
    • CA
    • Posts 6,363

Re: Federal disability / local govt pension income