The Lawyers.com Law Forums will be shutting down on June 30, 2017. We encourage you to resolve any outstanding discussions prior to that time. If you have any questions about this change, please email info@martindale.com.

ABandoned use ?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Tue, Feb 14 2017 6:52 AM by Drew. 0 replies.
  • Tue, Feb 14 2017 6:52 AM

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Mar 30 2000
    • PA
    • Posts 51,431

ABandoned use ?

I think I know that this is local politics 101 and not Code, but double check me 

Local Zoning code was totally redone and re enacted ......Slightly after the new Code was enacted , a local college purchases an old run down off campus apartment building .....and totally empties it out , and it was likely empty at time ...and holds it out of any use for 3+ years . 

I was an engineer , perhaps I missed something in meaning of word "one "  when used by developers means "three" ? 

ABANDONED or ABANDONMENT
    The cessation of a use of property (land and/or structures) by the landowner for a period of one year, during which the landowner neither occupied, resumed the use or transferred the rights of the property to another person who used the property . "

And

C. 

"Whenever the existing use of a building, structure or land shall hereafter be changed to a new use, parking and loading facilities shall be provided as required for such new use. However, if the existing use of land or structure was established prior to the effective date of this chapter, additional parking or loading facilities are mandatory only in the amount by which the requirements for the new use would exceed those for the existing use if the latter were subject to the parking and loading provisions of this chapter."