Undergraduate Medical Education Discrimination/Defamation

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Thu, Feb 16 2017 5:51 AM by Taxagent. 2 replies.
  • Wed, Feb 15 2017 10:08 PM

• Norians
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Feb 15 2017
    • CA
    • Posts 1

Undergraduate Medical Education Discrimination/Defamation

This is the situation. I'm in my 4th year as an MD Degree student. I took a clinical rotation at a hospital that is affliated with my university. I was given an evaluation that did not depict my educational preformance but rather it was influenced by one administartive person (which is purely subjective). Let me refer to that administartive person as Amy. The course was 10 weeks. In the first 5 weeks of the course I was evaluated as High Honor (My school uses the system of High Honor, then Honor, Pass, Low Pass, and Fail). Then I got a physcian who taught me for 4 weeks but has a personality issue [which the hospital admits in writing to me as an e-mail]. Despite requesting a change of the doctor due to her personality issue interfering with my education. They Hospital refused my request. I was given a Pass. However, I complained about that doctor the very first 3 days. But the Hospital made up a story about me stating that physcians-in-training (called Residents in the medical world) and other students were complaining about me having unprofessional behavior, and that I am a "Pass" type of student who needs to be more active in their education. Furthermore, they said that my unprofessional behavior will require the usage of the "hospital resources" (as a health evaluation) because there is always a potential that I can be culturally misinterpreted. That e-mail was sent to multiple administative people in the hospital including my medical school and a doctor who will be teaching me for the duration of a week. I ended up talking with my resident and they sent an e-mail to my medical school dean denying the fact I have any "unprofe