The Lawyers.com Law Forums will be shutting down on June 30, 2017. We encourage you to resolve any outstanding discussions prior to that time. If you have any questions about this change, please email info@martindale.com.

My wife and daughter were in a wreck a month ago

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Tue, Apr 11 2017 4:01 AM by adamchrly. 29 replies.
  • Wed, Mar 8 2017 12:23 PM In reply to

Re: My wife and daughter were in a wreck a month ago

If you do in fact have frame damage that significantly reduces the value of your car. I work in the auto resale industry and 90% of dealers will not buy a car with unibody, and most people won't if they know about it.

Unibody reduces the value by 30-40%. Talk to an attorney.

I have not seen adjuster Jack on here in a while, does anyone know where he has been?

Pull a car fax on your car. If the car fax shows unibody or frame damage, it's all over.

• Wed, Mar 8 2017 12:42 PM In reply to

• Flousc
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Mar 7 2017
    • SC
    • Posts 13

How long does it take to show up on the carfax report? The car won't be ready until a week from tomorrow at  the earliest now. And that is assuming they find nothing else wrong with it. Also, they said the frame is actually fine. But either way, $9000 in repairs means we are likely getting back a lemon. Noone will buy a car with that much damage, frame or not. I know I wouldn't. 

• Wed, Mar 8 2017 12:54 PM In reply to

• DOCAR
      Lawyer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on Sat, Dec 9 2000
    • NV
    • Posts 5,478

From looking at google, there appears to be a cottage industry in South Carolina for dimished value claims.  Have you checked with any of them?

• Wed, Mar 8 2017 1:00 PM In reply to

• Flousc
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • SC
    • Posts 13

I will look into it. I have googled plenty and not come across that. What is it? 

• Wed, Mar 8 2017 1:43 PM In reply to

• Flousc
      Consumer