Breach of Promise?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 07-11-2007 1:47 PM by gemini47. 6 replies.
  • 07-11-2007 10:37 AM

Breach of Promise?

Can a woman sue a man for breach of promise?

We have been dating nearly four years, and engaged for nearly two (since Nov. 2005). He is still unwilling to set a date for us to be married (I don't want any type of wedding) and I have no reason to believe he ever will be willing. He says it is because I have "issues" and "change the rules".

We are both now in our mid-50s. He's a widower with 4 older kids, I'm divorced with no kids. I have been an unpaid cook, maid, seamstress, secretary, nurse, companion on trips, and tutor to his kids for 4 years. A month ago, I told him our physical relationship was over until we were married. I'm 90% certain he will never marry me.

Please do not admonishing me for being such a fool or for allowing this to occur. He has told me repeatedly he will marry me. Fact is, he is unwilling to set a date. I honestly believe I have been misled and strung along.

Do I have any legal recourse? The state in question is MO. Thank you.

• 07-11-2007 12:25 PM In reply to

Question [=?] re: Breach of Promise?

This is probably what you do not want to hear, but NO. You stayed with him, and he is not required to marry you. If you chose to stay with him and quit your job and do all those things for him, that was your choice.

I have no idea how you will be able to prove fraud, because you did things that a girlfriend often does for their boyfriend. You will probably be unable to prove he was never willing all along and even if by some slim chance you are, what do you want out of it? What exactly would you sue for?

Now that you know he probably will not get married, its time to cut your losses and live the rest of your life doing what makes you happy.

• 07-11-2007 1:24 PM In reply to

re: Breach of Promise?