BLOCKING A SUBPOENA

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Wed, Sep 17 2008 4:06 PM by Anonymous. 4 replies.
  • Wed, Sep 17 2008 2:45 PM

BLOCKING A SUBPOENA

I may be in a situation as a witness where my cell phone records will be subpoenaed. I work as an physician's office manager and have multiple patient calls in my records. As this would be a violation of the patient's right to privacy, how would I go about stopping a subpoena on these grounds. Thanks!
  • Wed, Sep 17 2008 3:00 PM In reply to

• LynnM
      Lawyer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on Mon, Apr 3 2000
    • CA
    • Posts 28,248

re: BLOCKING A SUBPOENA

Talk to your lawyer. But the mere existence of the call is not likely to violate anyone's rights to the extent that a subpopena could be quashed.

And the patients would be the ones to raise the issue because it does not violate any of your rights.
  • Wed, Sep 17 2008 3:24 PM In reply to

....they are looking for a particular patient's name to appear on the records. In the process of doing so, they will become aware of other patient's that have seen us. We are not a General Practitioner and people generally do not want anyone to know they are treated here.
    Do not have an attorney.
  • Wed, Sep 17 2008 4:06 PM In reply to

Feedback [*=*] re: BLOCKING A SUBPOENA

Well, you need an attorney. You cannot assert the privacy rights of others who called your cell phone. An attorney *might* be able to get a protective order preventing the other side from obtaining the names associated with the other callers but if the issue is did a specific person call you and when, they other side is going to be able to get that information.
  • Thu, Sep 18 2008 10:40 AM In reply to

I generally agree with the prior responses, but have a few other thoughts.