DUI and Child custody.

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Mon, Oct 2 2006 11:21 AM by OhioCP. 9 replies.
  • Fri, Sep 29 2006 3:11 PM

• mndadof3
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Sep 29 2006
    • Posts 8

Sad [:(] DUI and Child custody.

Hello,

I am a professional with 3 children. I live in Minnesota ad my children live in FL (2 boys age 5 and 1 girl age 6). I won joint parental in our divorce case. I have been dating a woman since the seperation. We are now engaged to be married. I was hoping to move to FL shortly. My ex wife has not allowed my fiancee. It looks like I will be pushed to court.

The question is as of late it has brought me great grief to go down with her. I decided the other night to have a few before flying down to FL. I was arrested for a DUI. I have not been convcted of it yet. I have an attorney fighting this.

I missed my scheduled days (3) with the kids, she is now threatening if I push the issue of my soon to be new wife, she will go for sole custody.

Does she have a case? Help!!

MNDADOF3

• Fri, Sep 29 2006 3:12 PM In reply to

• mndadof3
    • Not Ranked
    • Posts 8

re: DUI and Child custody.

Sorry,

Meant to say my ex-wife is not allowing my finacee around the kids.
  • Fri, Sep 29 2006 4:56 PM In reply to

Feedback [*=*] re: DUI and Child custody.

A few things.

First of all your ex wife does not have to like your fiancee. She really has no basis to say she cannot be around the kids. Unless the decree states specifics on who can pick up the kids, and if a S/O can be present, she has no say in telling you who can and can't be around the kids. Ignore her.

Secondly, your DUI probably does not have much impact unless you have a history of it. Alot of people get a DUI it does not mean they are bad parents.