Ex wants to reopen our divorce

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 08-10-2006 4:35 PM by karenwisconsin. 12 replies.
  • 08-06-2006 5:23 PM

Question [=?] Ex wants to reopen our divorce

I'm new at this, so I hope my post makes some sense. My ex wants to take me back to court and to get more retirement benefits from me. Is it usual or unusual for judges to reopen divorce cases? The ex now wants a survivor annuity from my Federal Government retirement benefits. We attended financial mediation, and his attorney never discussed a survivor annuity. We signed the MSA, not awarding a survivor annuity, and were divorced about 9 months ago. It seems to me that what's final should be final?????????? Thanks so much!
  • 08-06-2006 7:33 PM In reply to

re: Ex wants to reopen our divorce

"My ex wants to take me back to court"

What does that mean?

Have you been served with a copy of a Petition to Reopen the Divorce, or something like it, that has been filed with the court?

• The right of the people 
    • to keep and bear arms,
    • shall not be infringed.
  • 08-06-2006 7:39 PM In reply to

PS.

Here's something I found on the internet by googling wisconsin divorce law reopen divorce

"The court does not have the authority to change a property division order after the date of the final divorce unless a party files a Motion to Reopen and the court grants that motion. A Motion to Reopen must be filed with a "reasonable" period of time but no later than one year from the date of the final divorce. The court has the discretion to determine what is a reasonable period of time. Also, the court will only reopen a judgment for very limited reasons such as mistake, fraud, inexcusable neglect, new information or other equitable grounds."

If you did get served with such a motion you can certainly file an objection to the motion and the court will hear arguments from both of you before making any kind of decision.

• to keep and bear arms,