Ticket issued after accident, officer did not witness

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Sun, Nov 9 2008 5:38 PM by Ford. 15 replies.
  • Mon, Oct 20 2008 11:59 AM

Ticket issued after accident, officer did not witness

Hi all,
    I am a law student so I've been doing some extensive educational reading on Westlaw for this ticket I received about a month ago. I'm going to the arraignment today to plead not guilty.

I was involved in an accident that was not witnessed. Minor fender-bender, but the other driver and I disagree on what happened, and neither of us saw each other before the crash. The officer showed up, listened to both stories, and gave me a ticket. He likely based his decision on the layout of the intersection - it's a three-lane road where the far right lane is required to turn right by signage (despite lack of pavement markings and the road continuing 3 lanes after intersection) and the middle has the option of continuing straight or turning right. She claimed I was in the right lane and failed to turn, and I claimed that I was in the middle lane and she merged into me from the left in a quick motion. The officer did not examine the roadway; he only took pictures of the damage and issued me the cite (O.R.C 4511.33(3)).

I have a few questions:
    1. Because the officer didn't witness the accident and only used the story of an interested witness for determining fault, is there any grounds for a motion to dismiss here? "Reasonable minds could not believe...?" Interestingly enough, I can't find any case law where the officer issued a cite based on hearsay.

2. When is the proper time to file a motion to dismiss? Have I missed the window? I think I remember seeing that one must file a demurrer before the arraignment, so that's moot.