Change compensation plan without notice

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 02-03-2009 1:45 AM by JDogCorpKilla. 2 replies.
  • 12-30-2008 10:02 PM

• rsarge
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 12-30-2008
    • Posts 1

Question [=?] Change compensation plan without notice

I'm a Pre Sales Systems Engineer for a small computer hardware vendor based out of MA. My compensation is broken up into two components base salary and quarterly bonus/commission. My question is on the bonus/commission, 75% of my quarterly bonus is driven by MBO's (Management by Objective's) and the remaining 25% is based on sales. My comp plan has very specific dollar amounts tied to specific MBO's/events that I need to accomplish during the quarter. This past quarter my company decided that instead of paying my MBO bonus in cash that they would pay in options. The issue or question that I have is that they didn't inform anyone that they were changing the comp plan until after the quarter was over. So instead of being paid $12k they gave me 150 options for a company that isn't publically traded. Each quarter they present us with a new comp plan and they have each employee sign it, I have my comp plan signed by me and the EVP of sales for the company with explicit dollar amounts for my MBO's. Also the offer letter that I signed for this position, back in April, explicitly detailed that I was to be paid on a 70/30 split with the 30% to be split 75/25. My OTE (On Target Earnings) on the offer letter was based on being paid money not options for a company that isn't publicly traded. I was informed in writing by HR that the company was not going to pay bonuses in cash for the quarter that just closed, but that I achieved all of my MBO's for the quarter and that I would receive 100% of my bonus to be paid in options. I realize times are difficult, but can they just change my comp plan without notice after the period of review has already passed/closed?
  • 12-31-2008 1:02 PM In reply to