CalPers Industrial Disability Retirement

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 06-27-2013 4:48 PM by avj81171. 3 replies.
  • 05-04-2009 7:12 PM

• jbswoods
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 05-04-2009
    • CA
    • Posts 2

CalPers Industrial Disability Retirement

I have been a Correctional Officer in CA for over 10 years. I was injured in a training accident in 01.  Comp has paid for 8 knee surgeries, 3 ACL and one Partial Replacement (both knees) I contiued to work after each surgery until the overtime in 06 knocked me down for good. 16 hours of stairs 3 days a week was it.  I will forever be mobily chalenged. I applied for retirement in 06.  CalPers said I had over 500 pages of medical info and they had no time to go through it so off I went to their Dr.  He told me that Of course I could not walk, I had too many knee surgeries.  But he said that was my fault I did it to stay of work. I filed a complaint against this Dr.- He was unique.  He called me names and twisted my knees telling me to stop faking when he made me cry.  He met me at the door with "So, you never want to work again" Pers sent my complaint to the Dr. who answered with "I didn;t do that"  I asked for a new exam with a new Dr. No answer.

I appealed the denial based on his exam and I have 2 Dr's ready to go to court.  It has been over 2 years. No word.  I even took a resonable accomodation to an Analyst that lasted for four months.  When I tried to come back 4 weeks after the knee replacement they said they were sorry, I don't medically quality for the job.  The prison will not even let me be a secretary.