Valuing A Masters Degree In The MArital Assets

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 05-22-2009 8:15 AM by Drew. 4 replies.
  • 05-20-2009 3:12 AM

• gandman1
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 05-20-2009
    • AL
    • Posts 2

Valuing A Masters Degree In The MArital Assets

I got a Masters Degree while working full time.  My wife also worked full time while I was going to school.  The cost of the degree was covered by my employer.  The only out of pocket cost was for books (~$1,900) fees (~ $200) and tax’s (~$300), as Clinton cut off the exemption for Graduate Tuition Reimbursement taxability.

I did change careers after getting the degree, but a portion of my previous career experience applied to my new career path.  The degree was not required to get the position or to maintain it. 

I am getting divorced in NY State.  Can my ex obtain any value on her side of the balance sheet for this degree?

• 05-21-2009 12:01 PM In reply to

Re: Valuing A Masters Degree In The MArital Assets

I'm not in NY.  She can probably try.  Degrees are usually looked at in terms of reimbursement to the marital community because of expenses paid, or future recovery because of spousal support and increased future income.

For the former, looks like the marriage lost $2,400.  Big deal.  She probably spent that on stuff that she is claiming as her own property, right?

For the latter, if spousal support isn't on the table, not sure I'd be worrying about this too awful much.

• 05-21-2009 12:23 PM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-30-2000
    • PA
    • Posts 49,151

Laymans take:

Degree in what?

If you mean an MBA--that was because some bright students out of Carnegie went to tax court Pro Se  and IRS beat them because they used business logic not tax logic  on an old sore point where a Harvard MBA beat IRS and wrote off Harvard MBA. 

Anyhow.