Can I get the father to waive his rights and child support?

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 06-30-2009 8:28 PM by LynnM. 6 replies.
  • 06-28-2009 8:27 PM

• ndeal429
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 06-28-2009
    • GA
    • Posts 2

Can I get the father to waive his rights and child support?

I live in Georgia.  I'm pregnant and the father is trying to manipulate me into giving the baby up for adoption.  I'm a teacher, and he's a successful IT consultant.  GA has legitimation laws where the mother can deny visitation rights to the father of an unlegitimated child.  Can I also get him to sign a contract waiving his paternal rights if I agree to not make him pay child support?  He's insisted that it's not possible to do anything like that, but I know people who are in the process of doing exactly that.

The reason I ask is because he insists that if I keep the child and don't find someone to adopt the child and take over his half of the parental responsibilities, then he's going to pay child support because he doesn't want someone trying to get him to pay 18 years worth of back child support one day.  He says if he's going to pay child support, then he's going to expect to have visitation, and that he'll hate us for forcing him into it.  This isn't going to be a good situation for my family or the child, and I want to make sure that he can't bother us and be a negative force in our lives.  I'm not going to just ask someone to adopt out his half of the kid, just for the sake of it when he can just walk away and leave us alone.

The reason he wants adoption so badly and he's trying to make it impossible for me to live peaceably if I don't choose adoption is because he thinks that things will go back to normal and we'll still be friends once the baby is gone.

• 06-28-2009 9:21 PM In reply to

• Kivi
      Consumer
    • Top 25 Contributor
    • Joined on 01-01-2005
    • CA
    • Posts 6,170