HOA wants me to sign agreement or face eviction

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 10-08-2009 12:47 PM by Drew. 6 replies.
  • 10-08-2009 12:02 AM

• jp3535
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 10-08-2009
    • FL
    • Posts 1

HOA wants me to sign agreement or face eviction

I have been renting a privately owned condo for almost 2 yrs.  Recently I got some letters from the home owners association saying that they want me to sign this application to become an "approved" resident.  And if I do not sign it I will face having my vehicle towed and possible eviction. 

I also know that my landlord has not been paying the maintenance fees to the association, and there are some clauses in the application that sound like they want me to take responsibility for the owners debt and or possible attorney fees that might incur.  

There are some other parts of the application, that I did not agree with, so I told them today that I will not sign this agreement, and they needed to talk to the owner regarding any maintenance fees that are owed.  They proceeded to tell me that they will tow my car and possibly evict me since I will be an "un-approved" resident. Apparently I won't be getting a parking sticker since I won't sign the agreement.  Let me also mention that I have 2 designated spots for my unit!

Do they have any legal ground to tow my car and possibly evict me based on the fact that I won't sign their agreement?

I really appreciate any advice!!

• 10-08-2009 12:18 AM In reply to

Re: HOA wants me to sign agreement or face eviction

jp3535:
    Do they have any legal ground to tow my car and possibly evict me based on the fact that I won't sign their agreement?

I don't know.

But the bigger question is what will you do about it if the HOA tows your car and files for eviction?

I suggest you talk to an attorney right now while it might cost you just a little rather than wait till the S.H.T.F.