Question about SSDI, family benefits and primary caregiver

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post Mon, Nov 2 2009 6:25 PM by Kivi. 2 replies.
  • Sun, Nov 1 2009 9:25 AM

• despair_01
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Mar 29 2004
    • NC
    • Posts 7

Question about SSDI, family benefits and primary caregiver

I have a question about family benefits and SSDI.  I have been receiving SSDI benefits for about 2 years.  My three children have also been receiving benefits checks on my behalf for the same amount of time.  Their check totals add up to about 50% of my benefit.  For even numbers assume my benefit amount is $1000 and each child is receiving about $166 per month.  My wife recently gave birth to our 4th child and I called the SSA the other day to have her added to my record so she can start receiving benefits in my name.  The worker I spoke with said that the benefit amount to each child would decrease because instead of being split 3 ways now it was going to be split 4 ways.  I understand that, no problem. 

But what I don't understand is what he asked next.  He asked if my wife helped care for the children.  Naturally I said yes, and that she currently only works part-time because I can't take care of the children by myself and I need help.  He went on to ask if she had filed for benefits on my behalf, though I can't recall exactly what he referred to it as, but maybe he referenced "primary caregiver of my children"?  Anyhow I told him that she had not because when I finally got approved for benefits (long ardous process that was), that I was beyond confused and thought that at that time the family benefit amount would be split 4 ways instead of 3 just among the three children.  So it really didn't matter at that time.