Article 2 of the UCC and non-merchants

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 03-15-2010 1:46 PM by Taxagent. 6 replies.
  • 03-14-2010 10:28 PM

• Brenda-D
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 03-15-2010
    • MN
    • Posts 2

Article 2 of the UCC and non-merchants

Hi, I'm new to this board. Not sure if I am posting in the right spot, but I have to start somewhere, right? Ok

I am school for a paralegal certificate and I am currently studying Article 2 of the UCC. My question is this: Does Article 2 of the UCC apply to a contract for sale of goods between two non-merchants?

I have been researching this online for about an hour now. All information I find states a merchant is held to a higher standard that a non-merchant, but does that mean the UCC applies when both parties are non-merchants? Nobody outright answers the question.

Thanks,

Brenda

• 03-15-2010 12:25 AM In reply to

Re: Article 2 of the UCC and non-merchants

Brenda-D:
    Hi, I'm new to this board.

Welcome.

Brenda-D:
    Not sure if I am posting in the right spot, but I have to start somewhere, right?

This is as good a place as any. And we all read all the boards anyway.

Brenda-D:
    does that mean the UCC applies when both parties are non-merchants?

I'm posting the link to the UCC so I can refer to it later.

https://www.revisor.mn...

Your going to have to define what you mean by "both parties are non-merchants" and give examples of transactions that you have in mind.

All or part of the UCC might apply to certain transactions depending on the circumstances. You can't make a general statement as to whether it does or doesn't apply when both parties are non-merchants, because not only might it apply or might not apply but there could be other statutes or even common law that applies to certain transactions depending on who's involved and what the circumstances are. And those statutes could overlap or leave holes.

• The right of the people 
    • to keep and bear arms,