Stolen and Cashed Savings Bonds (EE)

Previous | Next
 rated by 0 users
Latest post 05-10-2010 2:19 PM by Drew. 9 replies.
  • 05-10-2010 12:26 PM

• mjk5606
      Consumer
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on 05-10-2010
    • FL
    • Posts 4

Stolen and Cashed Savings Bonds (EE)

I have been recieving savings bonds since 1999 through a family trust on my mother's side.  When my parents divorced, I was taken out of the trust and I no longer recieve bonds. I will be moving to go to college in the Fall and was interested in cashing some of my savings bonds.  I filled out a lost bonds form and the Treasury sent me a letter stating of the 9 bonds, all were redeemed and a copy of the reciepts.  My mother stole and cashed my bonds.  She did so when I was a minor, but it says POD by her name.  I spoke with the bank and they said they were not allowd to cash them without a death certificate.  She even forged my signature on two of them (she did not sign her name also).  What can I do? 

• 05-10-2010 12:35 PM In reply to

• Drew
      Consumer
    • Top 10 Contributor
    • Joined on 03-30-2000
    • PA
    • Posts 49,508

Re: Stolen and Cashed Savings Bonds (EE)

If your signature was forged then that sure seems like a crime to me--two crimes if two forgeries....you do know what to do about a crime don't you?

Aside, its a form of extortion, a crime, by itself , to threaten Mom to make good by a threat of turning her over to law enforcement if she doesn't make good--but its sort of what you consider to do but to NOT step over the line with a direct threat.  Be careful not to cross the line.

But if Mom forged the instruments and you can prove they were forged--so be it!

• 05-10-2010 12:48 PM In reply to

Something is wrong there.

mjk5606:
    it says POD by her name

That tells me that the bonds were not in a trust but were in her name payable to you upon her death.

That means that they weren't yours and she didn't steal them.